Astrology's Mutable Signs

Posted by & filed under Astrology.

The mutables, Gemini, Virgo Sagittarius and Pisces, share the commonality of being adaptable. All four signs occur with the changing of the seasons. As their energy breaks down the energy of the old, making room for the new. One foot in the coming season another in the old.

Mutables thrive on change, determined to destroy what can’t bear weight. Going through a process stimulated by change they adapt, then evolve. This doesn’t always feel good to the person with a strong mutable characteristic in their chart. They may want to settle down and find some solid ground but this seems to take longer for the mutable-strong chart or personality. The Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius or Pisces will commonly believe they have found their niche only to see it melt away or vanish suddenly.

The changes relate to the sign’s element:

  • Gemini, Air: the intellect, learning, communicating and ideas
  • Virgo, Earth: serviceable skills/ meaningful work
  • Sagittarius, Fire: expression of spirit, inspiration
  • Pisces, Water: Emotions and the collective unconscious

To the other qualities, fixed and cardinal, the mutables can seem flaky and noncommittal. The mutable needs room to change, which requires careful choices in commitments. Each mutable sign must have the liberty to change or at least evolve within context. Monotony can lead to depression even if all of their pragmatic concerns are taken care of. The mutable needs stimulus and variety.

Throughout the mutable’s life, they begin to see patterns in things that have held their interest. This is how the mutable comes to derive their values. What has endured in their life through the chaos of constant change? What has survived through destruction and rebuilding? This is where the mutables find their pot of gold.

Want to talk about this?

I'd love to chat with you. You can find me at the places listed below…